A bridge dating from 1839, representing the industrial engineering know-how of the period. The bridge has been listed as a Historic Monument since 1966. It is also one of the 25 emblematic tourist sites in the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region.
As part of renovation work on the Charles Albert Bridge, it will be closed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, starting August 31, 2026.
The bridge has been listed as a Historic Monument since 1966.
It is also one of the 25 iconic tourist sites in the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region.
The plan to build a suspension bridge was approved in 1834 by King Charles Albert, Duke of Savoy, after whom the bridge is named. Measuring 180 meters long and 147 meters high, the bridge is now exclusively for pedestrians.
2026 Construction: Pedestrians must use the path on the Caquot Bridge (road bridge)—Cyclists must merge into traffic on the RD1201.
Free access.
Pets allowed
Pets not allowed